blurry eyes

Random fact: I took some kind of dance lessons for 12 years. I like to move it, move it.

This weekend our home town was at it’s best. The weather was a humid-less mid-seventies, the leaves are turning and just beginning to flutter to the ground. We went a few walks this weekend. My mom came to visit. It was an all around fabulous weekend.

Sunday afternoon we attended the local art fair. Various artists had their pottery, paintings and jewelry for sale. There was woman who made robots from recycle kitchen products. It was all very nice and sweet. The local university was also there. They had free crafts for the kids to make. So each of our older kids made a pair of sunglasses. They were made from poster board, cellophane and various other crafty materials. I am sure you could find them on Pinterest if you look long enough. Like I said, the kids each made some sunglasses.

Our older child loved the glasses. He carefully applied his stamps and stickers. Tracing the inside rim with his glue and carefully placing the cellophane over the lens opening. Then he proudly wore them around the Art Fair. He had to walk slowly around. Not quite sure where to step since he couldn’t see very well thru the yellow lenses. The only time they were taken off when he needed to be sure of his steps on the play ground.

Our younger son also took time in making his glasses. He applied his stamps. And glued around the rims. Then, when the glasses were finished, he put the glasses on and immediately took them back off. He said the glasses gave him ‘blurry eyes.’ It was to hard to see thru the lenses. He had picked a dark blue cellophane. So everything had the tint of being underwater.

Isn’t that life? You could say our experiences are the lenses we view life thru. And new experiences change the color of our lenses. One person can see life thru yellow cellophane. Viewing challenges as a chance to learn. A new opportunity. Others, can see life thru a dark blue cellophane. Meaning life is difficult. Challenges are obstacles, not opportunities.

We each have a choice in how we view the world. A perspective to take in how things look. As we gain new experiences, read different books. Walk alongside others, this can change the lens of our perspective.

I think as I have gone thru life, so far. My lenses have been different colors. Sometimes they were yellow or pink and it was easy to see the path I should choose. Or I was at least excited about the challenges that lay ahead of me. Other times, I feel my lenses were almost black. And I was stumbling along in the dark. Making it almost impossible to make even the smallest choices in life. But as I went forward and reached out for help in the dark times, my lenses began lightening up. It was as if asking others for advice and surrendering myself to Jesus changed the color of my lenses. Making my outlook a little sunnier. A little easier to see thru.
What about you? What color are you looking at the world thru?

Blessings

-K

Leave a Reply

