The Invisible (Wo)Man

Random Fact: Running against the wind is hard. I don’t like it. But if you run outside it tends to happen sometimes.
Two weeks ago I was lamenting to my husband that no one was commenting on this blog. Some people had liked it, and that is very appreciated, but no one had commented in a few days. Did no one care about what I had to say? And my husband came back with this
<blockquote>At least no one is slamming your dream. So there’s that. </blockquote>
Β I agreed that I did appreciate the fact no one was slamming my dream. That I could happily type away and no one would see my little comments or thoughts. It was nice to just get my thoughts out. And was I writing for others? Or because I wanted to write? Or because God has laid it on my heart to write?
It’s a mix of all of the above. It was scary to begin again at blogging. There is some trepidation on my part to share these thoughts. <em>What</em> <em>if</em> someone starts slamming my dream? What if people agree with what I say and share it with their friends? And the blog grows? Then there will be greater expectation on me to keep going on the writing. Or what if the blog stats get no higher then they are today?
Can I be content with how things are today? Not worrying about tomorrow or how <strong>I</strong> am coming across. Being content instead with God. Resting in the fact that <strong>HE</strong> has set this work in my heart and will be faithful to complete it. Whatever that completion looks like.
He does that for all of us. God knows us and does have a plan for us. It’s a <del>good</del> GREAT plan. If we are faithful to seek God and obey His word, The Lord will do things in our lives that are beyond ourselves. To God be the glory for what He has done, is doing and will do in our lives.
Blessings
-K
8 thoughts on “The Invisible (Wo)Man

  1. Eric says:

    Don’t be too discouraged. Most people who read blogs don’t tend to leave comments. Between blogs, FB updates, news stories, and RSS feeds of all sorts, leaving comments on things would turn 10 minutes of information absorption into hours of discourse. And as a mother, you know that most people don’t have the time. πŸ™‚

  2. Bo Bannister says:

    I agree with Eric. But keep writing, even just to write. You have good stuff to say, and the more you write, the better you say it. It would be good for us to help you, though.

  3. Annette Bannister says:

    Katie, I read almost every blog you write, and I am only subscribed to TWO BLOGS!! That means you are highly prized in my book. πŸ™‚ I don’t have time to leave comments most days. But I will try to write my thoughts more often. I appreciate your perspective that this exercise is about obedience to the Lord. In a FB world, where everyone can connect with each other with a simple Like or a short comment (welcome to the depth of my social interactions most days!!), it’s a challenge to cultivate the deeper kind of community a blog inspires. I agree with Eric’s comment–don’t be discouraged! You never know whose life you might touch!! You ALMOST inspire me to start my own blog, but that’s not something God has called me to yet. Ok, I have a baby done nursing and about to wriggle off the couch. Hugs! πŸ™‚

  4. Jean-Ann says:

    It is funny because WHEN I blog (very infrequently) I ponder the exact same. However, I can say when I happen to see your blirp about a new blog post I always read. I will try to give you more feedback. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

