Gluten Allergy 101

Random tidbit: It’s estimated that 1 in 133 people has Celiac disease. Which is an allergy to gluten that affects the body in a wide variety of ways.

Hello friends and family,

Today we will have a little lesson on gluten allergies. Causing damage to their cilia in the small intestines. My son was diagnosed with this allergy about six years ago. He has been on a gluten free diet ever since. Our diagnosis came about because of some pretty obvious gastric distress. A gluten allergy is NOT something he will grow out of. It will affect him for the rest of his life.  A gluten allergy can manifest itself in many different ways. For a complete list, you can check here.  So what does all this mean for you, the reader? Here are a few tips, tidbits from a parent of a celiac.

An allergy to gluten can also present itself in a variety of ways. Thru chronic illness, autoimmune disease like rheumatoid arthritis or eczema. Even some mental illness is being attributed to gluten allergies. The reaction a person with celiac disease has is very severe. It can be potentially fatal if the symptoms go on without being treated. Even a little bit can affect my son.

So that means I ask every person that is offering my son food what is in that food. I have even asked restaurants for their food packaging so I can read the labels. I worry about cross contamination so I pack my son’s lunch every single day. When he goes to a birthday party, I call the parents and make sure I know what they are offering to eat so I can make sure our son has some alternatives for himself. For school, I work with the teacher so the class projects are going to be  more gluten-free. Because even things like play-dough can be hazardous if my son doesn’t wash his hand. It also means my son is forbidden from swapping food with other kids. Yes, it’s important to share. But when you are paying $5 for a box of animal crackers, and you have  a limited budget, than I am not going to be sending those for group snack time.

Thank-fully more and more people are aware of gluten allergies. Thanks to the paleo  diet more and more people are coming on board with going gluten free as just a part of healthier eating style. Grocery stores offer coupons on produce, meat and dairy products.

So there is a little bit of info on gluten allergies. This is just the tip of the iceberg.

Blessings

-K

Leave a Reply

