A slow build

Random tidbit: If you have children with a tendency to lose their shoes, have them leave their shoes in the car. It makes searching for the shoes easier. Cause you have a smaller area to look in.

If you didn’t realize, this month is NaNoWriMo. That stands for National Novel Writing Month. For the month of November, thousands of people will be attempting to write 50 thousand words in one month. I started this process for this year. It’s slow going. i went away for the weekend. I have been worn out because I am sick. And each day I don’t meet my word count, the task seems harder and harder. As in, it would be worth it to just quit.

Then I see a tweet from Jon Acuff. It was all about our dreams and how we would prefer them to be easily attained. Like salt, something that’s in every home and available at most stores. It’s cheap to buy and accessible to everyone. But most dreams aren’t like that, they are like saffron, an exotic and expensive seasoning. It takes a lot of work for saffron to be harvested and then it’s expensive to use. Here is the full post.

That got me to thinking. Yes, I am behind on my goal for NaNoWriMo, but that doesn’t mean I should give up. It just means I might have to choose to write instead of watch an episode or two of television this week. Because that is a sacrifice I am willing to make.

What about you? Do you have a dream, goal project that you are behind on? Don’t give up! I don’t think I will ever regret choosing to go for NaNoWriMo rather than watching an episode of television. I don’t think you would either.
Blessings

-K

2 thoughts on “A slow build

  1. Annette Bannister says:

    Yes! You can do it, Katie!! 🙂

  2. […] I have been wrestling with all these thoughts this week, I thought I would go a little lighter on my post this morning. And I am kind of tired so I […]

Leave a Reply

