A list of Thanks

Very Random Fact about me: It bothers me when my workout clothes don’t match. It makes me want to cancel my run. Than I shake my head at my silly self and thank God I have the ability and means to run.

Something occurred to me while I was out running today. There is a trend among my Facebook friends to write something they are thankful for every day during the month of November. The term “30 days of Thanks”. I think it’s a great idea. Last year at the beginning of November I thought, “You should participate in this. This would be a fantastic way to practice gratitude. You know, that idea you are always trying to teach your kids about.” Then, the next thing I knew it would be Thanksgiving and I would have missed my chance to participate. So I would make a resolution to participate the next year.

Hear we are again, it’s November. The week of Thanksgiving. I again didn’t start out the month, but there is no reason I can’t participate. I could go back thru my Facebook timeline and add events to list what I am grateful for on the specific days of this past month. I could probably go back and do that for 2011 as well. Instead, I will just list them here.

1. I am thankful for Salvation. There is nothing in my life I could be more grateful for. My faith and relationship with Jesus is the basis for what I do. I measure everything I say or do or don’t say or don’t do by Jesus. Or at least I try to do that with most things.

2. My husband. He is a hardworking and honorable man. The most loyal and trustworthy person I know. He is the calm to my crazy and the apple to my pie. I love that man. I delight in seeing him interact with our children. Teaching our not so little boys to be men, teaching our daughter what a real man is.

3. My older son. He is so goofy and zany. So meticulous and determined on what he loves. He is a word smith and growing up faster than I like. His creativity and whimsy will take him down some exciting adventures, I’m sure.

4. My younger son. He is sweet and kind. He is so goofy. Wanting so much to be like his big brother, but finding out things he likes about himself. I am excited to see where his strong sense of right and wrong, a need for fairness will lead.

5. My only daughter. You are a little ray of light and sunshine. I see your determined mind and persistent spirit. Girl, your gonna move mountains.

6. My parents. They are a beautiful picture of God’s love and restorative power. They took the pieces of two marriages and brought them together to make a mosaic of joy and hope. Thanks for never giving up on any of us.

7. My siblings. None of us are perfect.  We may not always get along. But we will always have the common bond that was our upbringing.

8. My in-laws. These people brought up my husband to be a man. They have never left me feeling like I need to get thru some invisible barrier to be a part of their family. I have always felt loved and accepted by them.

9. My grandparents. Each in their own way has helped shape me into who I am.

10. My lady friends. They are a sweet balm to my soul and I always feel refreshed and energized whenever I get to spend time with them. Which isn’t nearly enough.

11. The women in my life who were not my mom that fed into my life to mentor me. I learned so many and am learning so much from them. Thank-you for pouring into me in the past and those that pour into me now.

12. My church home. There are just to many things to list.

13. Food. Love it!

14. My smart phone. it’s ridiculous and petty that this is in my top 15. But I am lost when I lose it.

15. Kids that get along. My older two are thick as thieves.

16. Our house. It’s a place of warmth and love.

17. Shoes, clothes and accessories.

18. Our small group. We are just getting to know each other. I look forward to learning more about each of them.

19. Netflix. I can let my kids and us watch shows without commercials. Coolest. Thing. Ever.

20. The internet. This blog wouldn’t happen without it.

21. Living in a geographical area that has four seasons. I like boots and flip flops.

22. Books, I love to read.

23. The library, because I love to read and books can be expensive.

24. Having one car. Sometimes it’s nice to have the excuse that I can’t do something because my husband has the car. Or vice versa.

25. To have a part time job.

26. For my husbands job. He works for a very nice little company. They are a tight knit group and always very kind and generous to our family.

27. Living within walking distance to a major super store.

28. The movies. There has always been something magical about seeing a movie on the big screen.

29. Whoppers and popcorn. They often go with the movie.

30. Writing. It helps me process, it helps me heal, it helps me get past myself.

There you have it. Thanks for reading all the way to the end, if you did. Blessings on your Thanksgiving holiday.

-K

2 thoughts on “A list of Thanks

  1. Annette Bannister says:

    That’s an awesome list, Katie. I loved reading it. I agree that your home is a place of warmth and joy, and I have always loved being there. 🙂 I didn’t know that you have a part-time job now. What are you doing?

    • Thanks Annette! I do have a job again. I will be back at Old Navy for the holiday season. We had not planned on traveling anywhere, and there were moments of ministry last year. I felt like it was time to go back. Hopefully it won’t interfere with my social life to much! 😉

Leave a Reply

