Thanksgivings over, let’s spread some joy

Random tidbit: Thanksgiving tastes better the second time it’s eaten. We should always let our food rest in the fridge for 24 hours before eating. At least some food…

We made it to Thanksgiving. We traveled over six hundred miles. We ate turkey, ham, pumpkin pie and all the trimmings. The boys found new friends in cousins, the girl needs to work on her people skills. It was a time of good conversation and great food. I even got to sleep a little bit.

Now we are home. It’s time to set up the Christmas tree and put up the lights. Make teacher gifts and Christmas cookies. Ahh, this is starting to sound like my mental to do list. Yes, there are things that have to be done, but I also want to keep things simple. Just enjoy this season with my family.

Buddy the Elf and our older son have a lot in common. He LOVES Christmas. The child would live on sugar and music if we let him. Last year, he and I decorated most of the tree and house with our Christmas decorations. He is all about untangling the lights and making sure they work. The child even handles the fragile ornaments carefully. (I wasn’t aware the first time he unwrapped a glass ornament. I was surprised to see it on the tree, then I figured out my little boy wasn’t so little anymore and could handle fragile things).

The other family members help out, but our oldest is the one with the heart of the season. I hope I can catch some of that joy. I do not want to get bogged down with the ‘duties’ this time of year has with it. I hope I can find joy in snow that makes roads difficult to drive in. Or when our little toddler takes off the ornaments and I have to put them back on the tree. I plan to make time to make cookies for my family and also have them help me make cookies for our neighbors.

That’s what I want to do this year. Keep it simple and spread joy with our family.

Blessings

-K

Leave a Reply

