Back in the Saddle Again

Tidbit: I did not miss the wind as I developed my sloth like sleeping habits over my Christmas break.

Hello! It’s been awhile. Christmas is over and I am back to running and writing again. They have always gone hand in hand for me. Probably because I get up so stinking early it’s the only time of day I have to myself. I love it. Just me and the hum of the heater. On to the main event.

One of my absolute favorite classes in college was a church worship course. As a church music major, I was required to take one religion class as an elective. I chose worship and sacred rituals. I loved it. The worship section was pretty easy since it was a lot of reading and creating a binder. Two things I can do pretty easily. And the sacred rituals were so interesting to me. I find there is something quite beautiful in ritual. The joy of marriage, the sweetness of baptism that symbolizes the shedding of the old man and rising into a new self. These are gorgeous celebrations.

There is beauty in the laying of hands as we pray for the physically sick or emotionally broken. There can be joy found even at funerals as we celebrate the end of a loved one’s suffering as they enter into a new realm of heaven.

As a church girl, I had grown up practicing communion, seeing baptisms, going to nursing homes to participate in a Sunday service for the elderly. My mom was a nurse so I was familiar with hospital visitation rules. Weddings were a big deal. Funerals were a time of reflection and bringing comfort in the form of a meal cooked with love. I loved it all. Learning the history of these rituals was so beautiful to me. The sharing of communion is one of my particular favorites. I still have such a sense of awe and reverence when sharing this sacred meal with my brothers and sisters in Christ.

It’s this shared community that makes the Church so special and unique to me. I love the commonality that comes with participating in traditions that have been practiced since the beginning of the Church. Partnering in symbolism with those that have gone before, are with me now and are coming behind is a beautiful thing. We are all a part of God’s family if we have accepted Christ as our Savior. And it’s these traditions and rituals that help bind us together.

Blessings

-K

2 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle Again

  1. Pastor Bo says:

    As a kid, you loved funerals? Now I finally understand you, Katie! 🙂 yes, unfortunately, we’re not so big on the sacred rituals anymore. People come to church based on the mind and what they learn, but are disconnected with how they participate in the body of Christ with habits of the body. Make sense? We’ll work on it.

Leave a Reply

