Issues

Random Quote: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, do not let them be afraid.” -John 14:27

There are some hot topics I could write about today. Like Steubenville, or Easter, or Victoria Secret’s new campaign targeted to middle schoolers. There’s the Supreme Court’s ruling on the definition of marriage. There are wars and famines, kids without homes. There are kids and adults being objectified and put into slavery. There are women haunted by their choices, there are men haunted by their past. There’s a lot of hurt and confusion going on all around me.

It can be overwhelming, stifling and loud. It makes me want to draw into myself and close  those blinds. It makes me want to avert my eyes in the grocery store. This hurt, this abuse, this chaos that is the world would be so much easier to deal with if I didn’t know about  it. But I do.

I know that hurts happen on a level so deep you might never find complete healing until you’re in the arms of Jesus. I know that children are ignored and left alone to fend for themselves way before they should be. I know that marriages are disintegrating right next door to my house.

But you know what else I know? I know my God is able, faithful and strong. I know my God cares and loves. I know that He fills me with His love and peace so I can extend that to those that are hurting and lost. I know that my God is merciful and loving and kind. That He weeps for the orphan and the widow. That Jesus cries out on our behalf before the throne of God.

I know this world is dark, but when do candles shine brightest? In the dark. When do injustices get made right? When the people of God step in. Not in our own power, but in the mighty power of our Savior, Jesus.

Blessings

-K

Leave a Reply

