The Mini is coming

Random tidbit: I don’t like driving at night.

In just three days, I will be running in a half marathon. Me and about 30,000 people will be running for a variety of reasons. Some to meet a race goal. Others because they have a weight loss goal. Still others because they have a great fondness for cake. Whatever the reason, we will be in our little corrals bright and early on a Saturday morning. We’ll all be shivering and waiting for our turn to cross the start line.

Some people show up for a race and just go in blind. They register at the last minute and show up Saturday morning and finish in under two hours. If this is your style, Good. For. You.
Others have been running their whole lives (or for awhile) and this is just another day to run. They enjoy the ‘runner’s high’ and the feeling of accomplishment that comes from shaving just 1/2 a second from their previous time. I am not one of these runners. Although it is nice to get faster.
Some use the race as a weight loss goal, slowly building momentum each day the get out and train. This is where I started. It can take a lot of mental effort to get off the couch the first few weeks, so this is a hearty Great job and Keep up the good work!!
Then there is me, now. I am a BIG fan of cake. And cheese and meat. I like to eat food. I know that genetics are not on my side when it comes to metabolism rates, so I run to boost it. I find that when I am running, I have discipline in other areas of my life. Discipline breeds discipline. If I can get out the door, I have come to embrace with gusto the half an hour that I have with my music in my ears and my feet rhythmically hitting the pavement. It’s my time to unwind and refocus for the day. I can listen to music without the counterpoint of my darling children’s voices.
Whatever the reasons, thousands will be descending on my capitol city to run a race for a piece of medal. But if you look a little deeper, you will find a thousand different runners have a thousand different reasons to be out there.
Maybe you can join us next year?

If one of my reasons doesn’t motivate you to run, maybe one of these will. This is a list I saw on https://www.facebook.com/myfavoriterun. It looks like a fun little site. And this is a fun little list.

  1. Write something…
  2. 2
    Like Favorite Run
  3. Running Stroller Reviews
    The best new strollers for parents on the move.http://bit.ly/12hxfgj

    Photo: Running Stroller Reviews<br />
The best new strollers for parents on the move.</p>
<p>http://bit.ly/12hxfgj
    4Like · · Share

  4. Recent Posts by Others on Favorite RunSee All
    • Help! Worst shin splints ever and I’m doing my first half marathon this Sunday. I’ve been getting ready for 3 months and never had never got shin splints till now. Frustrating =/

      about an hour ago

    • training for my first half marathon and was having a great deal of pain in my feet. Probable sinus tarsi syndrome diagnosis today (a cortisone shot being used as a diagnostic tool). Any words of comfort or advice are much needed

      7 hours ago

    • I am 3 weeks post op from microfracture surgery on my patella. I in no way want to compromise the fracture site, but I am afraid that all my hard work getting back into running over the past year is going to go by the wayside during this recovery if I don’t do some kind of activity. I am weight-bearing and can walk as my only activity but was also told I could try pool activities. I am unfamiliar with exercising in the pool and I wondered if anyone has had success with deep water running and their thoughts? I very much want to get back to running and anything I can do to maintain what I have would be great!

      8 hours ago

    • Love seeing post from other runners like me.keep up the good work ..

      9 hours ago

    • Hi all! I have been a runner for awhile.. some runs, I get blisters (especially big toe, inner side), and some runs I am ok. What gives? I have good sneakers (mizunos). Maybe special socks?? help!

      11 hours ago

  5. Likes
  6. Activity
    Recent
    Favorite Run created Run for Boston 2014.
  7. Amber:
    First-I love this page!
    Now, I’m more of a beginner in running, trying to make it part of a routine. Lately when I jog for 20-30 min 3.5-5.5mph I have really bad pain in my calves for a few days even if I stretch it hurts to even walk. Am I supposed to be doing something else? Should I try C25K and see if it helps?
    Like · · Share
    • 4 people like this.
    • Gracie Minnis Getting fitted for the correct running shoes is the best investment you will make.
    • Maxwell Trainer Penn @Amber: Are you running on concrete or a treadmill? If so and you are a newbie that could be the problem. Perhaps you should start out on surfaces with some give to them. Never the less hydrate stretch and get deep tissue massages on the affected part of your legs when ever possible. You also can use a rolling/knedding pin to help soothe/massage your muscles.
    • Write a comment…
  8. Favorite Run
    9 Reasons Running Doesn’t Suck as Much as You Think…..1. You can lose weight by drinking nothing but hot water with lemon. Or you can run for an hour, treat yourself to a cookie and still fit into your skinny jeans. One of these options makes you bitchy; the other makes you rad.

    2. Take your iPod with you, and your runs suddenly become a safe place to indulge your love of boy-band music. With enough practice, you can even blend in a couple dance moves from ‘Bye Bye Bye’. Don’t lie: You’ve still got that routine memorized.

    3. When your boss, your melodramatic friend and your nagging to-do list won’t leave you alone, calmly put on your running shoes and head out the door. They won’t follow you. It’s a safer alternative to storming out with both middle fingers in the air (though you can -and should- still do this in your head, just for spectacular effect).

    4. You’ll discover lululemon pants are good for more than just buying tampons and Cheez-its at Target (I know, ladies. My world was rocked with that discovery, too.).

    5. Running is the last place you have to “be a lady.” Sweat, snot and sneaking behind a bush to pee is not only liberating it’s fun, in that giggly-childish-naughty kind of way.

    6. Getting a run in before happy hour means you get tipsy on half a glass of wine instead of your usual two. That’s not being a lush, that’s just sound economic planning.

    7. Studies have shown that runners have better sex. Sex counts as a cross-training workout, which in turn makes you a better runner, which – hello! – leads to even better sex. Really, the whole thing is full of win-wins.

    8. Girls are lucky; there’s an entire industry committed to making us look awesome while getting our sweat on. Workout clothes come in all sorts of cool colors and designs. Jockstraps, on the other hand, will always be ugly with questionable stains.

    9. Non-runners will sit on the couch and call you crazy. Those folks, sadly, will never learn what their bodies are capable of. You, on the other hand, will die knowing you completely, totally, unabashedly used up the body that was loaned to you. That’s not crazy. That’s freakin’ awesome.

Blessings
-K

Leave a Reply

