Running Away

Side Note: This is my 100th Post

Quote of the Day: “It is our wisdom to make the best of that which is, for it is seldom that changing our place is mending it.” -Matthew Henry

I have recently started a new Bible Study. It is written by Kelly Minter about the book of Ruth. If you are in need of a Bible study that is for a small group of friends to discuss together, I highly recommend Ms. Minter’s living room series.

As I was reading the first day of this non-threatening study, I came to the last page and saw that quote from Matthew Henry. And I had to read it about five times to figure it out. That it is wisdom to stay where I am. It is wisdom to seek God to figure out the next step in my life journey. The reverse of being wise and staying where I am to work thru the problem would be foolishness in running away from my trial. 

For the last month I have been foolish. I have been running away from a trial that needed to be dealt with. Really, I had been running for the past ten years. And you know what happens when I run for  a long time? I get tired. I get worn out. I start bursting into tears at inappropriate times, like when I’m in the produce aisle at the grocery store. Or I burst into a fit of rage when my kids do something that is uniquely childish and doesn’t merit an attack from me. This is what happens when I run a long time. 

So I’m done running. For real. I am going to sit at the feet of my merciful Father and begin recognizing and healing from my trials. I am sure this will not be a walk-thru water break of a rest. This will be a long process of recovery. But it’s time. My friends that know me best would say it’s long past time. 

Is there something you are running from? Like Jonah ran away from Nineveh, are you avoiding the work God wants to do in you? Or thru you? Let’s stop and rest together. 

 

Blessings

-K

 

Leave a Reply

