Tuesday Treats

As you may or may not have read, I am participating in the church tradition of Lent. This is where a believer gives up something like a negative attitude, addiction to sugar or maybe something else that they depend on more than God.  There are a lot of variants that can be denied or added to Lent. Some people choose to do an act of service each day. Or only speak kindly during Lent. My friend ddsenesac over here tells about what she is practicing for Lent this year.

For me, it was sugar. Specifically- dessert. I have a serious sweet tooth. And I tend to eat gluten-free. So, when I bake my delicious gluten-free treats, there tends to be  a lot of sugar in them. Whenever there is a bad day, hour, moment or I’m really tired, anxious, irritated or just plain done with whatever shenanigans are happening in my home, I reach for the chocolate or muffin or cookie or candy bar. Whenever something needs to be celebrated I reach for the chocolate or muffin or cookie or candy bar. Desserts were my go to for any bad or good moment. Now, during this Lenten time of reflection and fasting I have had to find a different way to cope with the good or bad in my day. Instead of reaching for the bag of salted caramel chocolates, I pray this little prayer:

“Jesus, you’re going to have to be bigger than this sweet tooth, cause I need some help.”

You know what? It’s working. I’m not saying I don’t still want a candy bar or brownie or caramel deliciousness from Starbucks, but Jesus is bigger than my craving for dessert or sugar. When I do want to have something yummy to snack on, it’s because my family is having a treat of some kind. I don’t think the point of Lent is to be a martyr and ruin other people’s joy. It’s a personal thing between me and Jesus. So I’ve also been trying my hand at some paleo baking. Which is kind of an oxymoron, but there are some really great sugar free treats out there. If you are looking for a few treat that won’t blow your calorie count for the day, here are my top three. These are listed in no particular order.

1. Coconut oil Chocolate- I saw this recipe posted on facebook by another friend. It has metabolism boosting properties and doesn’t taste to bad. It’s chewy and needs to be refrigerated. I tried it on some fruit and it was ok. I liked it better by itself.

image from butterbeliever.com

image from butterbeliever.com

2, Paleo Macaroons- This recipe is delicious! It’s also really easy. With only four ingredients- it came together in a snap. I would have used my own picture but they were eaten to quickly.  The recipe and picture come from Elana’s pantry

paleo-coconut-macaroons-dessert-recipe-5614

 

3. This final recipe is my favorite. I found it over on thecookingactress.com. I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding 1/2 a cup of cocoa powder instead if the chocolate chips. I also used oat flour instead of the wheat flour to make them wheat free. These are my new favorite cookie. I love coconut and I love chocolate. I might add some almond slivers to make them a little almond joy treat.

image from thecookingactress.com

image from thecookingactress.com

Those are some of my new treats! I hope you have a sweet day.

 

Blessings

-K

Leave a Reply

